You are here

ESL Community Recognizes Many of Its Own at Awards Ceremony

At the Annual ESL Awards Luncheon that was held on Monday, December 12, 2016 at the Blackwell Inn and Pfahl Conference Center, students, staff, researchers and faculty received awards for their academic accomplishments, breaktrough research and their dedication to ESL. The 2016 ESL Annual Awards and the George Sinclair Award Committees announced this year's recipients and presented their certificates. This year's winners are:

  • Best Dissertation Award: Nicholas Host for his dissertation entitled: “Realization of a Low Cost, Low Complexity Traveling Wave Antenna”, Advisors: Chi-Chih Chen and John Volakis
  • Best Paper Award: Syed An Nazmus Saqueb and Kubilay Sertel for their paper entitled: “Phase-Sensitive Single-Pixel THz Imaging Using Intensity-Only Measurements”
  • Above and Beyond Award: Graeme Smith
  • Distinguished Service Award: Yesim Anter
  • Student of the Year Award: Shubhendu Bhardwaj
  • George Sinclair Award: John Volakis for his excellence in research, and his exemplary leadership of the ElectroScience Laboratory including establishing new research areas in electromagnetic sensor technologies and securing a new ESL building.

Congratulations to all the award winners for 2016. Photos from the luncheon that were taken by Ryan Horns of ECE can be found here.


Tags: Awards