2015 Best CERF Poster Awards

Posted: August 5, 2015


2015 Best CERF Poster Award recipients (left to right: Markus Novak, Kyle Stewart, Ushemadzoro Chipengo) standing with CERF program PI, Dr. Greg Creech.

In the 6th annual CERF Technical Meeting that was held on Tuesday, August 4 at the ElectroScience Laboratory, 35 posters competed for the best poster award. Four sessions were held throughout the day that featured posters focusing on the ESL research performed on Antenna Design; Radar, Navigation and Sensing; EM Algorithms and Measurements; and RF Circuits and Optics, that were fully or partially funded by CERF. Majority of the presenters were ESL graduate students and most of these posters showcased their thesis research. Presenters had chance to network not only with their peers and faculty, who specialize in different fields of the EM and RF research, but also with the representatives of CERF Affiliates (Raytheon, Berriehill Corp., MIT Lincoln Lab), who had the task of selecting the top five posters based on the academic content (accuracy, methodology), appeal to audience (their rationale & comprehension) and overall quality of the layout (flow of the poster structure, images). We congratulate the recipients for their success. These presenters are:

--1st place:  “Novel Concepts for Slow Wave Structures used in High Power BWO’s and TWT Amplifiers”.

Authors: Ushemadzoro Chipengo (poster presenter), Muhammed Zuboraj and John L. Volakis

--2nd place (1): “Ultra-Wideband Antennas for Satellite Communications up to Ku- and Ka-Band”

Authors:  Markus H. Novak (poster presenter), John L. Volakis, Félix A. Miranda.

--2nd place (2): “Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) Radar”

Authors: Kyle B. Stewart (poster presenter), Abishek Mohan, Joel T. Johnson


The first place and second place poster awardees receive $200 and $100 of monetary prize respectively along with a certificate acknowledging their successful presentation.