2017 CERF Best Poster Award Recipients

Posted: August 3, 2017


From top left to bottom right: Garry, Tantawy, Larue, Abdelfattah, Wang

Congratulations to Landon and Ramy for receiving the best poster awards, first and second places respectively, at the 8th Annual CERF Meeting, held at the Blackwell Inn and Pfahl Conference Center on Tuesday, August 1, 2017. Four sessions were held throughout the day that featured 33 posters focusing on the research performed at ESL on the Antenna Design; Radar, Navigation and Sensing; EM Algorithms and Measurements; and RF Circuits and Optics, that were fully or partially funded by the Consortium. Majority of the presenters were ESL graduate students and most of them showcased their thesis research. Presenters had a chance to network not only with their peers and other ESL researchers and faculty, but also with the representatives of CERF affiliates (Raytheon, Berriehill Corp., Lockeed Martin, Northrop Grumman). The judges (CERF affliates) had the task of selecting top 5 based on the academic content (accuracy, methodology), appeal to audience (their rationale & comprehension) and overall quality of the layout (flow of the poster structure, images). The first and second place poster awardees received $200 and $100 of monetary prize respectively along with a certificate acknowledging their successful presentation. 

We congratulate each recipient for their successful presentation. 

1st place: Landon Garry, "Passive I-SAR: Framework and Experimental Trials", co-author: Graeme Smith (advisor)

2nd place: Ramy Tantawy, "High-speed, High-resolution Analog-to-digital Converter for STAR and Software Defined Radios", co-authors: Waleed Khalil (advisor), and Shane Smith.


3rd place: Matthew Larue, "A Four-Way Outphasing Transmitter", co-author: Waleed Khalil (advisor)

4th place: Moataz Abdelfattah, "Switched-Capacitor DC-DC Converters for Near-Threshold Design", co-author: Waleed Khalil (advisor)

5th place: Qi Wang, "Range-Dependent Evaporation Duct Height Estimation from a Versatile Ship-Mounted X-band Receiving Array", co-authors: Robert Burholder (advisor) and Caglar Yardim.