You are here

IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society's 2018 John Kraus Antenna Award

Congratulations to award recipients Prof. Walter “Dennie” Burnside and Prof. Inder “Jiti” Gupta "for the design and development of compact test range reflectors with blended rolled edges." 

The prestigious John Kraus Antenna Award honors an individual or team that has made a significant advance in antenna technology.

The award will be presented by the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society to Professor Gupta and Professor Burnside at the upcoming IEEE AP-S Symposium to be held in Boston in July.

The blended rolled-edge reflector design developed by Professor Burnside and Professor Gupta played a central role in enabling the development of compact ranges as we know them today and influenced the design of indoor antenna/scattering test ranges at major research facilities such as Air Force Research Lab, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, NASA Glenn Research Center, Sandia National Laboratory, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory, Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, General Electric, and Raytheon. 

After nearly 30 years, Professor Burnside and Professor Gupta’s compact range design is still the state-of-the-art being used by major suppliers of these reflectors today.