You are here

ESL Faculty Receive Three Awards from College

ElectroScience Laboratory faculty received three awards from the College of Engineering in recognition of their achievements in teaching and research.

The Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Award for Excellence in Engineering Education

Joel T. Johnson, professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the 2019 Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Award for Excellence in Engineering Education. The award recognizes a senior faculty member who has achieved both national and international status as a leading educator and researcher. The award is named after Peter Scott, a 1949 Ohio state graduate in electrical engineering, who also received an honorary doctoral degree in 1995.

Professor Johnson was honored with this award for his seminal contributions to the field of micorwave remote sensing, for outstanding mentoring of students and faculty, and for leadership and distinctive service.

Lumley Research Awards

ESL faculty members Waleed Khalil and Caglar Yardim received Lumley Research Awards in recognition of their exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature. The award is in honor of John H. Lumley, a 1927 graduate of ceramic engineering. 

Learn More