Evans officially presented 2022 George Sinclair Award

Posted: May 12, 2023
two men with award plaque
ESL Interim Director Chris Ball (left) presenting Evans with award

On May 5, the ElectroScience Laboratory (ESL) welcomed back distinguished alumnus Eric Evans, PhD, director of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Lincoln Laboratory, to officially present him with the 2022 George Sinclair Award.

The George Sinclair Award recognizes an individual for distinguished technical contributions and/or service to ESL. The award honors the memory of George Sinclair, who formally founded ESL in 1942 and set exemplary standards in his technical research and leadership of the laboratory.

Evans was selected for the 2022 George Sinclair award for his technical contributions to the development of defense radar systems and for his leadership of MIT Lincoln Laboratory.

Current and former ESL faculty, researchers and staff gathered to celebrate Evans and his contributions to electromagnetics research and development since graduating from ESL in 1988.

“Eric is the ideal representation of what an ESL graduate can accomplish,” said ESL Interim Director Chris Ball. “ESL is honored to present this award to someone who has had such an impact on electromagnetics.”

To start the afternoon, Evans gave a seminar about his time at ESL and MIT Lincoln Laboratory.

two men smiling
Evans with his master's and PhD advisor, Professor Emeritus Stuart Collins

“ESL has had a major impact on electromagnetics-related research and development,” said Evans. “ESL graduates have had significant roles in academic, industry and laboratory research. ESL greatly prepared me for my success after graduation.”

During his presentation, he credited the education and training he received at ESL for his success. He noted that during his time at ESL, he collaborated with many of the other graduate students, and that they still interact in professional research collaborations. He also spoke about ESL and MIT Lincoln Laboratory’s continuing collaborations through ESL’s Consortium on Electromagnetics and Radio Frequencies (CERF).

“MIT Lincoln Laboratory views ESL as a national asset for electromagnetics research and for developing talent for national security,” said Evans.

The reception that followed allowed for continued conversation about potential collaboration and reminiscing on times at ESL. In attendance at the reception was Professor Emeritus Stuart Collins, Evans' master's and PhD advisor from ESL. Numerous past George Sinclair Award winners were also in attendance: 2021 awardee, Professor Joel Johnson; 2020 awardee, Research Scientist Ronald Marhefka; 2017 awardee, Professor Jiti Gupta and 2016 awardee, former ESL Director John Volakis.

Categories: AwardsAlumni